A picturesque settlement built on an altitude of 298 metres, 24 kilometres from Kalamata. The Upper and Lower Doloi are built facing each other, on two hills. The village is first mentioned in 1618 and it is known that during the Middle Ages, it was densely populated.
In the village are a few exceptional churches, like Agios Vasileios (Saint Basil), built in 1776, Agios Nikolaos (Saint Nikolaos), built in 1785 and Agia Paraskevi, with a double dome and its inside impressively painted, built in 1698. Other important churches are Agia Triada (Saint Trinity), with murals painted in 1739, Panagia (Holy Mary), built in the 18th century, and the monastery church of Agios Nikitas, its pictures painted in 1752.
In Upper Doloi is the Tower of Saravas, and in Lower Doloi is the second school ever built in Greece after the liberation from the Turks. Many other churches and some buildings have been declared as preserved historical monuments.